Books of the Bible Series: Leviticus Printable

*This Leviticus Printable post may contain affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission, at no extra cost to you, if you make a purchase through a link. Please see my full disclosure for further information.


We last left off with the Life of Moses in the book of Exodus. Moses’ life story is actually told over the course of 4 books:

  • Exodus: deliverance from Egypt
  • Leviticus: laws for Israelite living
  • Numbers: census of God’s people
  • Deuteronomy: Moses’ final speeches

If you grew up in church, you most likely have read the stories in Exodus. But most of the time, we skip over the next three books to get to the meatier part of the story in Joshua—when the Israelites FINALLY enter the promised land.

But let’s take a moment to pause and look over what’s happening in these three books, and take our time doing so. After all, they are included in the Bible, and surely God is teaching us more than a list of old outdated rules by including these in our records.

Follow along with me and see if I can’t inspire you to dig in deeper instead of glancing over the book of Leviticus.


Remember back in the book of Genesis when we learned that Jacob’s 12 sons formed the 12 tribes of Israel? Well the descendants of Levi (the Levites) were to become priests, meaning they would not receive a section of land, but would be provided for by the rest of the tribes. Their job was solely to provide guidance and be an intercessor between the Israelites and God.

Before the days of Jesus, the Israelites were to make sacrifices–constantly. There were multiple reasons they needed to do this:

  • Atonement for sins against the Lord / forgiveness
  • Restitution to God / giving first fruits
  • Thanksgiving and Praise / act of worship
  • Forgiveness for unintentional sins of ignorance / purity from uncleanliness
  • Guilt and Trespass offerings / fraud or mistreatment of others

In addition, there were all kinds of ceremonies and rituals–great feasts to plan that commemorated what God had done for his people:

  • Day of Atonement
  • The Sabbath
  • The Passover
  • Feast of Unleavened Bread
  • Feast of Weeks
  • Firstfruits
  • Feast of Trumpets
  • Feast of Tabernacles
  • The Sabbath Year
  • The Year of Jubilee

The Book of Leviticus is where each of these things are broken down and explained in detail. While we aren’t required to follow all these guidelines as Christians because of what Jesus did for us on the cross (more on that later…) it’s vital that you don’t skip these passages so that you can fully grasp the meaning and relevance of what he did by coming down to earth.

But for now, read through the book of Leviticus and use this handy printable to help you organize your thoughts as you go…



Each month, I’ll cover another book using the chronological order of my Old Testament Timeline.

You can grab all the timelines in my Books of the Bible Series here:

  1. Old and New Testament Timelines
  2. Genesis
  3. Exodus
  4. Leviticus
  5. James
  6. More coming soon!

Next month, I’ll help you make sense of the book of Numbers–and make a few connections along the way.

You’ve got this!


  1. I love your visual outline. It easy to get intimidated by Leviticus and want to skip over it. There is some important stuff in there! My husband is a pastor. He likes to draw out things like this for our church. They are not this pretty. lol I will show him your stuff.

  2. This is awesome. I did not expect to enjoy reading/learning on Leviticus. You did an awesome job in this generous illustrations without compromising the message and the teachings of the book. Keep it up Amy.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.